OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

When going to Ireland most people think of going to Dublin, but at the very north point lays Belfast. Belfast is a city that still suffers from the aftermath of the Catholic and Protestant war. This city has a lot to offer in history and in beauty. There are many hotels to choose from here but I stayed at The Fitzwilliam Hotel.

http://www.fitzwilliamhotelbelfast.com

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Belfast Castle is worth a stop by. It is very pretty and has amazing views from the backyard. Sir Arthur Chichester, who was a Baron of Belfast, built the castle in the 1600s.

http://www.belfastcity.gov.uk/tourism-venues/belfastcastle/bcabout.aspx

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA Giant’s Causeway is very famous because of it being a naturally formed rock formation. If you are in Ireland you have to visit this site, it is truly an unexplainable beauty. It is also hard to believe that the ocean created it all. Be sure to be prepared to walk down steep stairs to get down to the rock formation. It is also very uneven terrain so be prepared for that. Ireland has a lot to explore but it also offers more than what people would traditionally think of exploring in Ireland.

http://www.discovernorthernireland.com/Giants-Causeway-Antrim-Northern-Ireland-Bushmills-P2800

3 thoughts on “Ireland

  1. I’ve really enjoyed your blog. The level of detail on the Italy posts was excellent. I liked learning about how safe each area was, how long to visit, where to stay and what to see. I can feel very confident in planning a similar trip there after reading your blog. I liked the Hawaii blog too and Kauai is also my favorite Island. Giant’s Causeway in Ireland is also a fascinating place I want to visit. I cannot believe that the ocean formed that!

    Like

  2. Wow Katelyn! That’s really neat- I’ve never been to Ireland but I know a little about Belfast and the aftermath of the Catholic and Protestant War because it’s been an issue in a couple TV shows I’ve watched. It looks so pretty and I’d love to go! I’m studying abroad in the Fall semester so maybe I’ll get to see it in person! The Belfast Castle looks incredible and so does Giant’s Causeway. I love photography and both of those sites look like they’d be worth taking pictures of!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. This is not a traditional “Must see” Ireland list! I like that it offers a different perspective of activities to do on such a beautiful island. The rock formations look really fascinating. What is the best season to travel to Ireland?

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment